Pretty Things, The: S.F. Sorrow (Vinyl LP)

Pretty Things, The: S.F. Sorrow (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €27.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Touted as the world's first rock opera & one of the great classics of the psychedelic era, the album stands favourable comparison with Sgt. Pepper & Piper At The Gates Of Dawn as one of the defining records of its time.

Recorded at Abbey Road in 1967 & 1968, it was one of the first true concept albums that pre-dates The Who's Tommy by a year. Exploring the life of a single character & his journey in learning to trust people & ultimate disillusionment, S.F. Sorrow is like none that have come before it. Walking the line between experimental rock, psychedelic pop & even sharing similarities with proto-heavy metal the album was years ahead of its time & still stands atop as one of the most pivotal concept albums ever.

Beginning with 'S.F. Sorrow Is Born', the track introduces the protagonist via folk leaning acoustic guitar. Later on in the album, proto-heavy metal tendencies are revealed on 'Balloon Burning'. 'Well Of Destiny''s swirling progressive tendencies bleed into 'Trust' before the melancholic yet profound closure of 'Loneliest Person' This new edition also features 4 bonus tracks not previously featured on the original album consisting of 'Defecting Grey', 'Mr Evasion', 'Talkin' About The Good Times' & 'Walking Through My Dreams'

2018 reissue.

  1. S. F. Sorrow Is Born
  2. Bracelets
  3. She Says Good Morning
  4. Private Sorrow
  5. Balloon Burning
  6. Death
  7. Baron Saturday
  8. The Journey
  9. I See You
  10. Well Of Destiny
  11. Trust
  12. Old Man Going
  13. Loneliest Person 

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid