Cave, Nick & The Bad Seeds: Tender Prey (Vinyl LP)
Cave, Nick & The Bad Seeds: Tender Prey (Vinyl LP)

Cave, Nick & The Bad Seeds: Tender Prey (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €28.95 €0.00 Unit price per
The dark, poetic troubadour tendencies hinted at in Cave's work as early as his first album's cover of Leonard Cohen's 'Avalance' blossom on 1988's Tender Prey. In a style recalling Cohen and Tom Waits, Cave ups the lyrical ante considerably here. On gory detail-oriented, literate tunes like 'Up Jumped the Devil' and 'Mercy', Cave's second life as a novelist (he would soon author a book) is obvious. Here, the distance he achieves from his inner demons allows him to focus more on crafting his personal horror stories, making him seem like the Edgar Allen Poe of the rock world.
The balladic approach introduced on the covers album Kicking Against the Pricks also develops here, on melodic, piano-based songs like 'Slowly Goes the Night' and 'Watching Alice'. On these, Cave recalls an earlier, similarly iconoclastic balladeer, Scott Walker. Tender Prey proved a turning point for Cave, and it's one of his strongest albums.
2014 reissue.
  1. The Mercy Seat
  2. Up Jumped The Devil
  3. Deanna
  4. Watching Alice
  5. Mercy
  6. City Of Refuge
  7. Slowly Goes The Night
  8. Sunday's Slave
  9. Sugar Sugar Sugar
  10. New Morning
  11. The Mercy Seat (Video Mix)

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid