Byrne, David & Fatboy Slim: Here Lies Love (Vinyl 2xLP)
Byrne, David & Fatboy Slim: Here Lies Love (Vinyl 2xLP)

Byrne, David & Fatboy Slim: Here Lies Love (Vinyl 2xLP)

Regular price €39.95 €0.00 Unit price per
David Byrne and Fatboy Slim’s acclaimed 2010 album Here Lies Love receives its first-ever vinyl release to coincide with a new production opening on Broadway this summer. Here Lies Love is a double-disc song cycle – improbably poignant, decidedly surreal, surprisingly thought provoking – about the rise and fall of the Philippines' notorious Imelda Marcos. It was conceived by David Byrne; composed by Byrne and DJ / recording artist Fatboy Slim, AKA Norman Cook; and performed by a dream cast drawn from the worlds of indie rock, alt country, R&B and pop.
Byrne's taste in collaborators is as imaginative as it is impeccable, including Cyndi Lauper (who recounts, to lighthearted disco beats, Imelda's courtship with Ferdinand Marcos), Steve Earle (as the power-hungry Ferdinand), Dap-Kings vocalist Sharon Jones (recalling Imelda's introduction into New York society) and Natalie Merchant (as spurned Imelda confidante Estrella, anticipating the onset of martial law). Along with vocals turns from such stars as Tori Amos and the B-52's Kate Pierson, Byrne works with rising indie rockers St. Vincent and My Brightest Diamond; New York chanteuses Nellie McKay and Martha Wainwright; and dance-music divas Róisín Murphy and Santigold. Byrne himself appears as the voice of imperialistic America on ‘American Troglodyte’, a send-up that wouldn't have seemed out of places in Talking Heads' True Stories.

Here Lies Love has an effervescent disco feel, redolent of Fatboy Slim's own dance-floor anthems, with warm undercurrents of the Latin rhythms that have percolated through Byrne's recent solo work. The sunny arrangements act in counterpoint to the reality of the Marcos' increasingly repressive regime, reflecting the imagined inner life of the glamour-obsessed Imelda. Explains Byrne, "For me, the darker side of the excesses are, for the most part, a matter of record. A lot of the audience is going to come with that knowledge already. What's more of a challenge is to get inside the head of the person who was behind all of that, and understand what made them tick." Byrne offers no judgment and avoids the obvious – there is no mention of Imelda's infamous shoe collection.
  1. Here Lies Love (feat. Florence Welch)
  2. Every Drop of Rain (feat. Candie Payne & St. Vincent)
  3. You'll Be Taken Care Of (feat. Tori Amos)
  4. The Rose of Tacloban (feat. Martha Wainwright)
  5. A Perfect Hand (feat. Steve Earle)
  6. Eleven Days (feat. Cyndi Lauper)
  7. When She Passed By (feat. Allison Moorer)
  8. Walk Like a Woman (feat. Charmaine Clamor)
  9. Don't You Agree? (feat. Roisin Murphy)
  10. Pretty Face (feat. Camille)
  11. Ladies in Blue (feat. Theresa Andersson)
  12. Dancing Together (feat. Sharon Jones)
  13. How Are You? (feat. Nellie McKay)
  14. Men Will Do Anything (feat. Alice Russell)
  15. The Whole Man (feat. Kate Pierson)
  16. Never so Big (feat. Sia)
  17. Please Don't (feat. Santi White)
  18. American Troglodyte
  19. Solano Avenue (feat. Nicole Atkins)
  20. Order 1081 (feat. Natalie Merchant)
  21. Seven Years (feat. Shara Worden) (My Brightest Diamond)
  22. Why Don't You Love Me? (feat. Tori Amos & Cyndi Lauper)

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid