Whipping Boy: Heartworm (Vinyl 2xLP)
Whipping Boy: Heartworm (Vinyl 2xLP)

Whipping Boy: Heartworm (Vinyl 2xLP)

Regular price €34.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Since its release in 1995, the second album by Whipping Boy has, slowly but undeniably, come to be regarded as one of the most extraordinary rock albums of its age. Heartworm heralded a dramatic transformation for the Dublin quartet, who jettisoned the diaphanous dreampop of their 1992 debut Submarine; choosing instead to honour Fearghal McKee’s wounded confessionals with unprecedented pugnacity and a new emphasis on melody.

In the year that Britpop became a rolling news story, Heartworm slipped out under the radar – although similarly against-the-grain contemporaneous releases include Manic Street Preachers’ The Holy Bible and Radiohead’s The Bends. This reissue on Needle Mythology Records has been remastered by Sean Magee at Abbey Road and features an extra album of previously rare and unreleased music and comprehensive liner notes by esteemed Irish music journalist Colm O’Callaghan.

  1. Twinkle
  2. When We Were Young
  3. Tripped
  4. The Honeymoon Is Over
  5. We Don’t Need Nobody Else
  6. Blinded
  7. Personality
  8. Users
  9. Friction
  10. Morning Rise
  11. When We Were Young (Philo Version)
  12. I Am God
  13. Magnolia
  14. Caroline Says II
  15. Tripped (Live)
  16. We Don’t Need Nobody Else (Acoustic Version)
  17. Disappointed
  18. Twinkle (Acoustic Version)
  19. As The Day Goes
  20. A Natural 

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid