Them: The Angry Young Them (Vinyl LP)

Them: The Angry Young Them (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €25.95 €0.00 Unit price per

The Angry Young Them is the first album from the Northern Irish rock and roll group Them, led by singer and songwriter was Van Morrison. In the U.S., the album was released as Them with partly different tracks. Six of the songs on the album were Morrison originals, including the famous garage band anthem "Gloria". Another song on the album, "Mystic Eyes", was a spontaneous creation that came out of the band just "busking around" in Morrison's words and after seven minutes of instrumental playing he impulsively threw in the words of a song he had been working on.

"You Just Can't Win" was a Dylan inspired song about a gold digger, set in specific places in London such as Camden Town. "Little Girl" was about a boy's obsession with a fourteen-year-old school girl (an earlier take on Lord's Taverners charity album had been deleted when a four-letter word was heard in the fade out at the end). "If You And I Could Be As Two" starts with a spoken introduction by Morrison with an aggressive Irish accent. Three Bert Berns originals were included and a cover of John Lee Hooker's "Don't Look Back" was considered by Morrison to be his finest vocal to date.

2016 reissue on 180 gram vinyl.

  1. Mystic Eyes
  2. If You And I Could Be As Two
  3. Little Girl
  4. Just A Little Bit
  5. I Gave My Love A Diamond
  6. Gloria
  7. You Just Can't Win
  8. Go On Home Baby
  9. Don't Look Back
  10.  I Like It Like That
  11. I'm Gonna Dress In Black
  12. Bright Lights Big City
  13. My Little Baby
  14. (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid