Thelonious Monk Septet: Monk's Music (Vinyl LP)

Thelonious Monk Septet: Monk's Music (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €19.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Presented here is the complete original album Monk’s Music, featuring Thelonious Monk with a septet including both tenor sax luminaries John Coltrane and Coleman Hawkins. This edition also contains further studio recordings by Monk and Trane, among them a blues performance from the same sessions (in which Monk sits out) and an outstanding alternative take of “O Minor”.

Down Beat: Monk’s Music “The album is to date the best cross section of what Monk is doing today with a group. Throughout, Monk is the dominant force. The music, whether blown by the horns or rapped out by his hands, is as much a part of him as his thoughts. It is a tribute to Monk that within this intensely personal music, a soloist like Coltrane can develop a singularly personal style of his own, while ng into the frame of Monk’s reference. This is one to play again and again with no diminu on of pleasure, or of discovery.” (Dom Cerulli).

2009 reissue. 

  1. Abide With Me
  2. Well, You Needn't
  3. Ruby, My Dear
  4. Ruby, My Dear
  5. Off Minor
  6. Epistrophy
  7. Crepuscule With Nellie 

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid