Portishead: Dummy (Vinyl LP)

Portishead: Dummy (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €29.95 €0.00 Unit price per

The classic debut Portishead album from 1994. The collaboration of studio whiz Geoff Barrow and singer Beth Gibbons, Dummy was made at the same time as a short film noir called To Kill a Dead Man, and the same approach - gloomy, tormented, and wildly melodramatic - permeates the album.

"Sour Times" (the hit in which Gibbons cries, again and again, "nobody loves me, it's true") and the more cryptic "Glory Box" are the lynchpins of the album, defining its sound: dark flashes of old soul and film music, dehumanised electronic bleeps, Gibbons emoting like she's consumed by shame, and a bass-and-beat pulse derived from the slow bump and grind of the Bristol scene that spawned Barrow's old collaborators.

  1. Mysterons 
  2. Sour Times 
  3. Strangers 
  4. It Could Be Sweet 
  5. Wandering Star 
  6. It's A Fire 
  7. Numb 
  8. Roads 
  9. Pedestal 
  10. Biscuit 
  11. Glory Box

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid