Popol Vuh: Cobra Verde OST (Vinyl LP)

Popol Vuh: Cobra Verde OST (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €29.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Born as Florian Fricke’s brainchild, Popol Vuh needs little introduction, the band stayed active between the late 1960s and late 1990s (until Florian’s passing in 2001). Regarded as pioneers in avant-garde German electronic music, their early works practically laid down the foundations for ‘Kosmische Muzik’ (Space Music) with the then new sounds of the Moog synthesizer joined with ethnic percussions. Later the group evolved to include all kinds of instruments (both electric and acoustic alike) shrouding their music in a spiritual and introspective mystical aura. Popol Vuh influenced many other European bands with their uniquely soft but elaborate instrumentation, which took inspiration from the music of Tibet, Africa and pre-Columbian America. With music sometimes described as "ethereal", they created soundscapes through psychedelic walls of sound, and are regarded as precursors of contemporary ‘world music’, as well as of ‘new age’ and ‘ambient’.

The band regularly contributed soundtracks to the films of Werner Herzog that include classics like Aguirre, Nosferatu, Heart Of Glass of course Cobra Verde. Cobra Verde (featuring Klaus Kinski) was the final collaboration between Popol Vuh and director Werner Herzog. Originally released in 1987, this is the first time the soundtrack gets a vinyl release outside of Europe. Regal chants accompanied by hand drums, guitars, piano and clavier in a sacred manner are alternated with synthesizer themes that have a tense / dramatic and haunting effect. African ceremonial music and the Choir of the Bavarian State Opera corner this as a landmark meditative and ambient piece of cosmic music. A necessary purchase for both Popol Vuh fans and Herzog collectors.

  1. Der Tod des Cobra Verde
  2. Nachts: Schnee
  3. Der Marktplatz
  4. Eine andere Welt
  5. Grab der Mutter
  6. Om Mani Padme Hum 4
  7. Sieh nicht überm Meer ist's
  8. Hab' Mut, bis dass die Nacht mit Ruh' und Stille kommt
  9. Om Mani Padme Hum 4 (Piano Version)

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid