Davis, Miles: Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud (Vinyl LP)

Davis, Miles: Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €19.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Ascenseur Pour L'échafaud is a 1958 French film directed by Louis Malle. It was released as Lift To The Scaffold in the UK. The film was nothing special, but it did accomplish one thing: it proposed a new ideal of cinematic realism, a new way to look at a woman.

Jean-Paul Rappeneau, a jazz fan and Malle's assistant at the time, suggested asking Miles Davis to create the film's soundtrack. He showed Davis a screening of the movie, and afterwards Miles knew exactly how to portray the smoky hazed or frantic scenes through sonic imagery.

On December 4 1957, he brought four French Jazzmen (Barney Wilen / tenor saxophone, René Urtreger / piano, Pierre Michelot - bass and Kenny Clarke - drums) to the recording studio "Le Poste Parisien Studio" without having them prepare anything. Davis only gave the musicians a few rudimentary harmonic sequences he had assembled in his hotel room. Eventually Ascenseur Pour L'échafaud has become a great achievement of artistic excellence. 2009 reissue.

  1. Générique
  2. L'Assasinat De Carala
  3. Sur L'Autoroute
  4. Julien Dans L'Ascenseur
  5. Florence Sur Les Champs-Elysées
  6. Dîner Au Motel
  7. Evasion De Julien
  8. Visite Du Vigile 
  9. Au Bar Du Petit Bac
  10. Chez Le Phothographe Du Motel
  11. On Green Dolphin Street
  12. Fran-Dance
  13. Stella By Starlight 

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid