DeMarco, Mac: Salad Days (Vinyl LP)

DeMarco, Mac: Salad Days (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €27.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Salad Days, is the follow up to 2012's lauded Mac DeMarco 2 which saw the Edmonton local propelled into the limelight. Written and recorded around a relentless tour schedule (which picked up all over again as soon as the LP was done), Salad Days gives the listener a very personal insight into what it's all about to be Mac amidst the craziness of a rising career in a very public format.

The lead single, "Passing Out Pieces", set to huge overdriven organ chords, contains lines like "..never been reluctant to share, passing out pieces of me.." Clearly, this isn't the same record that breezily gave us "Dreamin" and "Ode To Viceroy" but the result of what comes from their success. "Chamber of Reflection", a track featuring icy synth stabs and soulful crooning, wouldn't be out of place on a fantasy Shuggie Otis and Prince collaboration. Standout tracks like these show Mac's widening sound, whether insights into future directions or even just welcome one-off forays into new territory.

Still, this is musically, lyrically and melodically good old Mac DeMarco, through and through. The same crisp John Lennon / Phil Spector era homegrown lush production that could have walked out of Geoff Emerick's mixing board in 1972, but with that peculiar Mac touch that's completely right now.

  1. Salad Days 
  2. Blue Boy 
  3. Brother 
  4. Let Her Go 
  5. Goodbye Weekend 
  6. Let My Baby Stay 
  7. Passing Out Pieces 
  8. Treat Her Better 
  9. Chamber Of Reflection 
  10. Go Easy
  11. Jonny's Odyssey 
  12. Mac's Outro

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid