Lightnin' Hopkins: Lightnin' Hopkins (Vinyl LP)

Lightnin' Hopkins: Lightnin' Hopkins (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €19.95 €0.00 Unit price per

This essential LP edition includes the blues giant’s 1959 self-titled debut for the Folkways label, Lightnin’ Hopkins (which would be retitled as The Roots of Lightnin’ Hopkins six years later). It’s perhaps the best introduction to his blues mastery. This album (which has been long unavailable on vinyl) was a pivotal part of the late-’50s/early-’60s blues revival which helped spark greater interest in Hopkins and many of his contemporaries.

In addition to the original masterpiece, this Vinyl Lovers collector’s edition also includes 2 bonus tracks from the same period: “So Long Baby” and “The Foot Race Is On.”

Solo recordings by Sam "Lightnin'" Hopkins (vocals and guitar).
Recorded at 2803 Hadley Street, Houston, Texas, January 16, 1959. 2017 reissue.

  1. Penitentiary Blues
  2. Bad Luck And Trouble
  3. Come And Go With Me
  4. Trouble Stay 'Way From My Door
  5. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean
  6. So Long Baby
  7. Goin' Back To Florida
  8. Reminiscences Of Blind Lemon
  9. Fan It
  10. Tell Me Baby
  11. She's Mine
  12. The Foot Race Is On 

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid