Martyn, John: The Tumbler (Vinyl LP)
Martyn, John: The Tumbler (Vinyl LP)

Martyn, John: The Tumbler (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €31.95 €0.00 Unit price per

A complex and sometimes belligerent character in real life, on record, John Martyn was the epitome of the folk-dreamer, embodying the spirit of the bourgeoning London acoustic scene of the late 60s - Well-known and respected for his 70s albums Solid Air and One World, this is where it began.

Produced by fellow London scenester Al StewartThe Tumbler was a huge step forward, presenting Martyn as the questing soul he would become; yet, for the abstraction of The Gardeners, there was the simple folk ditty of Fishin' Blues. With the exemplary flute playing of Harold McNairFly On Home is clear in its influence on Martyn's peer, Nick DrakeKnuckeldy Crunch and Slippledee-Slee Song demonstrates what would have happened if Syd Barrett had gone folk.

The Tumbler can be viewed also as the beginning of Martyn's slurred vocal style and sweet sentiment that was to chime with thousands of his aficionados in the UK.

This re-issue faithfully replicates the original 1968 Island Records UK release and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl.

  1. Sing A Song Of Summer
  2. The River
  3. Goin' Down To Memphis
  4. The Gardeners
  5. A Day At The Sea
  6. Fishin' Blues
  7. Dusty
  8. Hello Train
  9. Winding Boy
  10. Fly On Home
  11. Knuckledy Crunch And Slippledee-slee Song
  12. Seven Black Roses

    All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
    All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
    Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid