Flynn, John Francis: I Would Not Live Always (Vinyl LP)
Flynn, John Francis: I Would Not Live Always (Vinyl LP)

Flynn, John Francis: I Would Not Live Always (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €25.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Singer, guitarist, flautist (and practitioner of the double tin whistle), John is also a member of celebrated traditional group Skipper's Alley and is joined here by bandmate Ultan O'Brien (also of Slow Moving Clouds). Also contributing to the record are singer Consuelo Breschi of the duo Varo, sean nós singer Saileog Ní Ceannabháin, Phil Christie (O Emperor / The Bonk) on keyboards, and drummer and composer Ross Chaney who created many of the Tascam tape-loop drones that bind the album together. The record was produced, engineered and mixed by Brendan Jenkinson (Villagers / Cloud Castle Lake) who also joins in on a host of instruments for the record. It was recorded and mixed at Oxford Lane and Sonic Studios, Dublin.

The material John Francis Flynn has chosen to record includes songs learned from recordings of Shirley Collins, Frank Harte and settled Traveller Paddy Quilligan, two songs written by activist and folk revivalist Ewan MacColl, and a West Indies halyard shanty published by "Last Working Shantyman" Stan Hugill, alongside in-studio improvisations and tunes picked up by John along the way.

  1. Lovely Joan
  2. Cannily, Cannily
  3. My Son Tim
  4. Tralee Gaol
  5. Shallow Brown
  6. Chaney's Tape Dream
  7. Bring Me Home Pt. I The Dear Irish Boy
  8. Bring Me Home Pt. II I Would Not Live Always
  9. Bring Me Home Pt. III An Buachaillín Bán
  10. Come My Little Son

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid