Yoshimura, Hiroshi: Surround (Vinyl LP)
Yoshimura, Hiroshi: Surround (Vinyl LP)

Yoshimura, Hiroshi: Surround (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €49.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Temporal Drift proudly presents the long-awaited, first-ever reissue of SurroundHiroshi Yoshimura’s sought-after ambient classic.

Originally released as an album in January 1986, Surround was recorded by Yoshimura as a commission from home builder Misawa Homes, intended to function as an “amenity” designed to enhance the company’s newly built living spaces. A pioneer in the field of environmental music, Yoshimura’s previous works included Music For Nine Post Cards (1982), originally produced to be played back inside a museum space, and designing sound environments for public spaces and subway systems. Surround was recorded almost concurrently with the acclaimed and popular Green (1986); the two albums are described by Hiroyoshi Shiokawa in his liner notes as being Yoshimura’s yin and yang.

In his original notes for the album, Yoshimura recommends that Surround be placed in the same family of sounds “as the vibration of footsteps, the hum of an air conditioner, or the clanging of a spoon inside a coffee cup.” And, as he suggests, “with the addition of city noise from outside the window,” you may hear Surround in a completely new way."

New liner notes by original album producer Hiroyoshi Shiokawa. Includes Yoshimura’s original notes in Japanese and English.

  1. Time After Time
  2. Surround
  3. Something Blue
  4. Time Forest
  5. Water Planet
  6. Green Shower

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid