King, Freddie: My Feeling For The Blues (Vinyl LP)

King, Freddie: My Feeling For The Blues (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €29.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Donny Hathaway as arranger, King Curtis as producer, and a rhythm section that included Jerry Jemmott and Cornell Dupree. The groove tempos are not too fast and not too slow; in other words just right. The horn arrangements are sublime and Freddie's performance is top-notch. My Feeling For The Blues is a one-of-a-kind blues album by the great Freddie King.

The first two songs, "Yonder Wall" and "The Stumble" set the tone for the whole recording. In fact, the album's opener is a laid back rendition of Elmore James's "Yonder Wall". King Curtis lays a great, soulful horn and Freddie's guitar sounds more upfront than on his previous LP.

From there, My Feeling for the Blues listens as a tribute to the Giants of the Blues genre: King tackles B.B. King's "I Wonder Why" and "Woke Up This Morning", T-Bone Walker's "Stormy Monday", Jimmy Reed's "You Don't Have to Go" and Eddie 'Guitar Slim' Jones classic "The Things I Used to Do", while upping the pace with a frantic, instrumental take on Ray Charles "What'd I Say".

2017 reissue on 180 gram vinyl.
  1. Yonder Wall
  2. Stumble
  3. I Wonder Why
  4. Stormy Monday
  5. I Don't Know
  6. What'd I Say
  7. Ain't Nobody's Business What We Do
  8. You Don't Have To Go
  9. Woke Up This Morning
  10. The Things I Used To Do
  11. My Feeling For The Blues

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid