Gentry, Bobbie: Ode To Billie Joe (Vinyl LP)

Gentry, Bobbie: Ode To Billie Joe (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €29.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Gentry's first 1967 album is a masterpiece, it's a simple as that. An album of hauntingly beautiful songs penned by Bobbie herself bar one track. The album is an uncluttered, straight down the line collection of smoky-voiced gems, mostly with the simplest guitar accompaniment, but with a quirky, almost psychedelic twist on each track.

The album is in a very similar vein and feel to Rodiguez's stunning Cold Fact, which came out three years later, and side by side you would imagine the later album may have been inspired by Bobbie's seminal Ode To Billy Joe. This album can also easily compare with Dusty's In Memphis for it's sheer intimacy and soulful feel and is certainly in the same league musically. After this first album, Bobbie moved into a more MOR groove, which in a way makes this such a stand-out and important album.

  1. Suppertime
  2. God Bless The Child
  3. Since I Fell For You
  4. Here’s That Rainy Day
  5. I Didn’t Know [demo]
  6. Hushabye Mountain [Demo]
  7. Stormy
  8. Save Your Love For Me
  9. This Girl’s in Love With You
  10. The Windows of the World
  11. Hushabye Mountain (previously unreleased)

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid