Stereolab: Emperor Tomato Ketchup - Expanded Edition (Vinyl 3xLP)

Stereolab: Emperor Tomato Ketchup - Expanded Edition (Vinyl 3xLP)

Regular price €32.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Stereolab's fourth full-length, Emperor Tomato Ketchup marked the point where the band evolved from a purely underground phenomenon to an important pop group capable of selling albums while keeping their hipness and integrity intact.

At the time of its release, it was simultaneously their most experimental and most accessible release, with the deliberate raw textures of earlier works replaced by a more polished vibe. The album was also their greatest success to date both commercially and critically, and remains a consensus favourite even now.

Continuing to mine the music of the '60s and early '70s, Stereolab employs Farfisas and Moogs, melodies from Bacharach and Hardy, soft-rock, bubblegum, dub and hip-hop sounds to augment their core influences of krautrock, punk, jazz and space rock. Odd time-signatures and deft layering techniques are more crucial to the arrangements, and the grooves on tracks like 'Metronomic Underground' and 'Les Yper-Sound' add a level of funk to the mix, while the album also includes clear and catchy pop songs like 'Cybele's Reverie' and 'The Noise of Carpet'.

Emperor Tomato Ketchup brings many elements to the table, but Stereolab puts them all together into a coherent vision. For a group that revealed in resurrecting continental obscurity, from Neu! to Krzysztof Komeda, Emperor Tomato Ketchup sounded wholly futuristic and alien.

Co-released by band’s own label Duophonic UHF Disks and Warp Records. Remastered from original tapes. Comes with a bonus album of unreleased demos, outtakes and alternate mixes.

  1. Metronomic Underground
  2. Cybele's Reverie
  3. Percolator
  4. Les Yper-Sound
  5. Spark Plug
  6. OLV 26
  7. The Noise Of Carpet
  8. Tomorrow Is Already Here
  9. Emperor Tomato Ketchup
  10. Monstre Sacre
  11. Motoroller Scalatron
  12. Slow Fast Hazel
  13. Anonymous Collective
  14. Freestyle Dumpling
  15. The Noise Of Carpet (Original Mix)
  16. Old Lungs
  17. Percolator (Original Mix)
  18. Cybele's Reverie (Demo)
  19. Spark Plug (Demo)
  20. Spinal Column (Demo)
  21. Emperor Tomato Ketchup (Demo)
  22. Les Yper-Sound (Demo)
  23. Metronomic Underground (Demo)
  24. Percolator (Demo)
  25. Tomorrow Is Already Here (Demo)
  26. Brigitte (Demo)
  27. Motoroller Scalatron (Demo)
  28. Anonymous Collective (Demo)

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid