Wild Fire: Dance Hits (Vinyl LP)

Wild Fire: Dance Hits (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €29.95 €0.00 Unit price per

In the late '70s Wild Fire was one of the more popular groups in Trinidad. Formed by Oliver “Stompy” Chapman back in 1962 the group was originally named the Sparks. By the disco era Wild Fire were the house band at night clubs like Disco Tracks and the Upper Level. The group was very influenced by disco, especially the famous British group, Hot Chocolate, whose chief songwriter Tony Wilson was originally a Trinidadian native and also great friends with Oliver Chapman.

The opening track on this compilation is "Try Making Love", a floor-filling track written by Tony Wilson in 1977 and recorded at Coral Sound Studio in Port of Spain. It was there that Oliver Chapman laid down the unforgettable bass line, solidifying its status as a surefire hit. The infectious tune held steady at the number one slot for six weeks in Trinidad and eventually climbed to the top of the charts in Barbados.

Recorded at KH Studios, “Living On A String” with its unique disco  synth sound by keyboard player Calvin Duncan was about the hard living of one trying to survive as a musician and hoping to one day partake in the material trappings of fame. “The Rebels” was more about the political struggle for the young in the country at the time. 

  1. Try Making Love
  2. Check It Out
  3. The Dealer
  4. The Rebels
  5. Sexy Lady You
  6. A Little More Love
  7. Livin' On String
  8. Dance With Me
  9. Try Making Love (Al Kent Rework)
  10. A Little More Love (Sol Power All-Stars Extended Dub)

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid