Irvine, Weldon: The Sisters (Vinyl LP)
Irvine, Weldon: The Sisters (Vinyl LP)

Irvine, Weldon: The Sisters (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €28.95 €0.00 Unit price per
Keyboardist and composer Weldon Irvine is among the most celebrated Jazz-Funk artists of all time. A longtime bandleader for Nina Simone, he wrote the lyrics for Simone's iconic civil rights anthem "To Be Young, Gifted and Black". Throughout the 1970s, Irvine released a series of seminal albums full of deep, soulful, funky grooves, many of which were later mined for samples. The Sisters is a collection of lost tracks and demos from his late-1970s studio sessions with fellow Jazz-Funk luminary Don Blackman. A potent mix of instrumental and vocal tracks from a remarkably consistent artist, The Sisters contains the hit single "Morning Sunrise", famously sampled on Jay-Z's "Dear Summer".
  1. The Sisters
  2. Nursery Rhyme Song
  3. Think I’ll Stay A While
  4. Misty Dawn
  5. Morning Sunrise
  6. Shopping
  7. It's Funky
  8. Sexy Eyes
  9. Egypt
  10. Heard It All Before
  11. Blue In Green

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid