Velvet Underground, The: The Velvet Underground (Vinyl LP)

Velvet Underground, The: The Velvet Underground (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €29.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Velvet Underground's self-titled third album seemed like the debut of a new band. John Cale had left (replaced by Doug Yule) and the group became, for all intents and purposes, Lou Reed's back-up band.

The songs actually sounded like rock music and John Cale's screeching musicality was reworked into songs that featured Sterling Morrison's most eloquent guitar accompaniment. Reed's songwriting moved beyond the armed-to-disarm approach of the previous two albums towards a spiritual level of empathy with the human race - a change that wouldn't go unnoticed.

The man who once begged someone to 'nullify (his) life' ("Heroin") was now asking Jesus to "'help me find my proper place,' and whooping his way through the equally inspiring "Beginning To See The Light". To this day, every song on Velvet Underground sounds like a breakthrough. In short, this album showcased the human side of Lou Reed's songwriting. Unobstructed by walls of sonic noise, Reed's insight and genius was finally allowed to shine through.

2015 reissue.

  1. Candy Says
  2. What Goes On
  3. Some Kinda Love
  4. Pale Blue Eyes
  5. Jesus
  6. Beginning To See The Light
  7. I'm Set Free
  8. That's The Story Of My Life
  9. The Murder Mystery
  10. After Hours

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid