Various Artists: Soho Scene '58 (Jazz Goes Mod) (Vinyl LP)

Various Artists: Soho Scene '58 (Jazz Goes Mod) (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €24.95 €0.00 Unit price per

In a nation said to have ‘never had it so good’, Britain’s jazzmen were certainly proving this to be so during 1958. Not yet drowned by rock and roll, jazz was the youth culture music of the cognoscenti, those who, digging both modern American records and Continental fashion, were laying the groundwork of the first phase of ‘Mod.’ But there was more to 1958 than aping the mannerisms of others.

Soho Scene ‘58 tells the story of this heady time; a Year Zero for Modernism in which
London began to swing its way towards the 1960s, jazz setting the pace as never before.

  1. Eddification - Eddie Thompson Trio
  2. Johnny Comes Lately - Don Rendell Jazz Six
  3. Ninth Man - Tony Crombie & His Men
  4. Morning Fun - Alan Clare Trio
  5. Mirage - The Jazz Couriers
  6. Slidin' - Ronnie Ross Quintet
  7. Just For The Boys - Vic Ash Sextet
  8. Milestones - Miles Davis
  9. Cubano Chant - Jo Jones Trio
  10. Poinciana - Ahmad Jamal Trio
  11. The Seventh Son - Mose Allison
  12. Blue Minor (edit) - Sonny Clark

    All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
    All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed