Various Artists: Studio One Funk (Coloured Vinyl 2xLP)
Various Artists: Studio One Funk (Coloured Vinyl 2xLP)

Various Artists: Studio One Funk (Coloured Vinyl 2xLP)

Regular price €34.95 €0.00 Unit price per
Studio One Funk is made up of rare and unreleased reggae-funk from the vaults of Studio One. Ever since the birth of funk in America, the sound has been an ever-present ingredient in the melting pot of Studio One’s musical output.

The music on this release is a combination of originals, US covers and versions of existing Studio One cuts. Jackie Mittoo shows his appreciation for Booker T and The MGs, the studio group at Memphis’ famous Stax Records with ‘Hang Em High’, itself a cover of a film soundtrack by Dominic Frontiere. Incredibly this version has never before been released. Booker T’s super-funky ‘Melting Pot’ is also covered by the little-known Underground Vegetables.

Other versions include Isaac Hayes’ classic Blaxploitation soundtrack ‘Shaft’ again by Cedric Im Brooks track - another unreleased gem, straight from the tape master. Motown gets a look in with Alton’s stripped-down version of the Spinners classic ‘It’s A Shame’, written by Stevie Wonder and Syreeta.

James Brown is apparent in spirit with the JBs-inspired groove on the super rare cut “Now” by Lee Arab. Lloyd Williams similarly does a fine Kingston-style version of the hardest working man in showbusiness on ‘Reggae Feet’.

Version-wise, we have ‘Idleberg’, Cedric im Brooks tough instrumental cut on Horace Andy’s seminal ‘Skylarking’. The little-known Prince Moonie gives us a rare DJ cut of another Horace Andy classic, ‘See A Man’s Face’.

Pablove Black’s cut of Sidewalk Doctor (A/K/A Poco Tempo) is one of a handful of Studio One releases featuring Augustus Pablo’s trademark instrument, the melodica, played by Black himself.

Add to these original cuts from Studio One’s heavyweight session players including Leroy Sibbles, Jackie Mittoo, Eric Frater, Leroy ‘Horsemouth’ Wallace, Richard Ace, Vin Gordon and more and you have one of the finest selections of reggae and funk you will ever hear.
Red vinyl version.
  1. Cedric Im Brooks - Shaft
  2. Alton Ellis - African Descendants
  3. Pablove Black - Sidewalk Doctor
  4. Lloyd Williams - Reggae Feet
  5. Jackie Mittoo - Hang 'Em High
  6. Cedric Im Brooks - Idleberg
  7. Prince Francis - Beat Down Babylon
  8. Lee Arab - Now
  9. Soul Brothers - 007
  10. Prince Moonie - See A Man's Face
  11. Sound Dimension - Love Jah
  12. Leroy Sibbles - Do Your Thing
  13. The Sharks - Music Answer
  14. Underground Vegetables - Melting Pot
  15. Devon Russell - You Found Heaven
  16. Vin Gordon - Steady Beat
  17. Alton Ellis - It's A Shame
  18. Roy Richards - Another Thing
  19. Delroy Wilson - Funky Broadway

      All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
      All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
      Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid