Ireland: Free shipping over €75
Ireland: Free shipping over €75
Cart 0
Various Artists: Bills & Aches & Blues (Vinyl 2xLP)

Various Artists: Bills & Aches & Blues (Vinyl 2xLP)

Regular price €26.95 €0.00 Unit price per

In 1980, a newly launched UK independent record label, christened Axis, suddenly discovered after its first batch of releases that another Axis already existed, so a new name was required.

A flyer designed to promote the label’s launch worked on the concept of a new decade and a new mission. In descending order down the page was written:

1980 FWD
1984 AD

41 years after its inception, 4AD continues to look forward. But a record label’s catalogue of releases is essentially timeless. So, the idea grew to ask current artists to cover a song of their choosing from 4AD past: a creative experiment rooted in the spirit of collaboration and a snapshot of 4AD today.

01. Tkay Maidza - 'Where Is My Mind?' (Pixies)
02. U.S. Girls - 'Junkyard' (The Birthday Party)
03. Aldous Harding - 'Revival' (Deerhunter)
04. The Breeders - 'The Dirt Eaters' (His Name Is Alive)
05. Maria Somerville- 'Seabird' (Air Miami)
06. Tune-Yards - 'Cannonball' (The Breeders)
07. Spencer. - 'Genesis' (Grimes)
08. Helado Negro - 'Futurism' (Deerhunter)
09. Efterklang - 'Postal' (Piano Magic)
10. Bing and Ruth - 'Gigantic' (Pixies)
11. Future Islands - 'The Moon Is Blue' (Colourbox)
12. Jenny Hval - 'Sunbathing' (Lush)
13. Dry Cleaning - 'Oblivion' (Grimes)
14. Bradford Cox - 'Mountain Battles' (The Breeders)
15. SOHN - 'Song To The Siren' (Tim Buckley)
16. Becky and The Birds - 'The Wolves Act I and II' (Bon Iver)
17. Ex:Re - 'Misery Is a Butterfly' (Blonde Redhead)
18. Big Thief - 'Off You' (The Breeders)

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed