Talking Heads: Stop Making Sense - Deluxe (Vinyl 2xLP)
Talking Heads: Stop Making Sense - Deluxe (Vinyl 2xLP)

Talking Heads: Stop Making Sense - Deluxe (Vinyl 2xLP)

Regular price €47.95 €0.00 Unit price per

The inspiration for Stop Making Sense came when director Jonathan Demme saw Talking Heads perform during the band’s 1983 tour for Speaking in Tongues. Afterward, he approached them with the idea of making the show into a concert film. They agreed and worked together over the next few months to finalize the details. Ultimately, Demme filmed three shows at Hollywood’s Pantages Theater in December 1983 to create Stop Making Sense.

The concert film presents a retrospective of the band up to that point, with a performance that weaves together songs from all six of its studio albums. The show progresses methodically, opening with Byrne onstage performing “Psycho Killer” alone with a drum machine. After each song, he’s joined by a new band member until Weymouth, Frantz, and Harrison are all on stage with him. The group continues to grow throughout the concert as members of the stellar touring band are added: keyboardist Bernie Worrell, percussionist Steve Scales, guitarist Alex Weir, and back-up singers Lynn Mabry and Ednah Holt.

Stop Making Sense was an artistic and commercial triumph when it arrived in September 1984. The film had people dancing in theatre aisles while the soundtrack sold over two million copies. Just last year, the Library of Congress added Stop Making Sense to the National Film Registry in recognition of its cultural, historical, and aesthetic significance.

The Stop Making Sense full concert for the first time ever on vinyl with a reproduction of the original booklet from the 1984 limited edition pressing with additional pages and never before seen photos. Includes brand new notes written by Chris, David, Jerry and Tina.

  1. Psycho Killer
  2. Heaven
  3. Thank You For Sending Me An Angel
  4. Found A Job
  5. Slippery People
  6. Cities
  7. Burning Down The House
  8. Life During Wartime
  9. Making Flippy Floppy
  10. Swamp
  11. What a Day That Was
  12. This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)
  13. Once In A Lifetime
  14. Big Business / I Zimbra
  15. Genius Of Love
  16. Girlfriend Is Better
  17. Take Me To The River
  18. Crosseyed And Painless

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 128): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid