Pyramids, The: Birth/Speed/Merging (Vinyl LP)

Pyramids, The: Birth/Speed/Merging (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €29.95 €0.00 Unit price per

As students at Antioch college, Ohio, alto saxophonist Idris Ackamoor, flautist Margaux Simmons and bass player Kimathi Asante created three lasting monuments in sound — Lalibela, King of Kings, and Birth/Speed/Merging, a trio of albums produced without any label backing or distribution between 1972 and 1976. Their music is unique among the varied canon of avant-garde and experimental music of 1970s America: high intensity African-styled percussion topped with songs, chants, and horns, laced with African instruments and arranged into long, flowing suites that surge and roll.

Birth/Speed/Merging was recorded in 1976 after the band's move to San Francisco. The album closes the Pyramids' 70s trilogy and makes more use of studio technology: adding overdubs and other effects, a marked departure from the previous two releases, though at no cost to the urgent message and energy of their earlier works.

  1. Aomawa
  2. Birth/Speed/Merging - Part 1
  3. Birth/Speed/Merging - Part 2
  4. Birth/Speed/Merging - Part 3
  5. Birth/Speed/Merging - Part 4
  6. Reaffirmation - Part 1
  7. Reaffirmation - Part 2
  8. Reaffirmation - Part 3
  9. Reaffirmation - Part 4
  10. Jamaican Carnival - Part 1
  11. Jamaican Carnival — Part 2
  12. Black Man And Woman Of The Nile

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid