Martyn, John & Beverley: Stormbringer! (Vinyl LP)
Martyn, John & Beverley: Stormbringer! (Vinyl LP)

Martyn, John & Beverley: Stormbringer! (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €19.95 €0.00 Unit price per

A complex and sometimes belligerent character in real life, on record, John Martyn was the epitome of the folk-dreamer, embodying the spirit of the bourgeoning London acoustic scene of the late 60s. Well-known and respected for his 70s albums Solid Air and One World, this is where it began.

John Martyn met Beverley Kutner and the pair married in 1969. Kutner was a dazzling folk singer who had been invited by Paul Simon to sing on Simon & Garfunkel's Bookends album. It was obvious that two such talents united in love should also unite in music. Stormbringer! - produced by Joe Boyd - was the first of two albums billed to both of them.

Recorded in Woodstock, the album featured The Band's Levon Helm on drums on Beverley's standout, eight-minute long "Sweet Honesty". Not to be overshadowed John also contributed John The Baptist, one of his career highlights, with Beverley adding sweet backing vocals.

This re-issue faithfully replicates the original 1970 Island Records UK release and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl.

  1. Go Out And Get It
  2. Can't Get The One I Want
  3. Stormbringer!
  4. Sweet Honesty
  5. Woodstock
  6. John The Baptist
  7. The Ocean
  8. Traffic-Light Lady
  9. Tomorrow Time
  10. Would You Believe Me?

    All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
    All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
    Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid