LCD Soundsystem: LCD Soundsystem (Vinyl LP)

LCD Soundsystem: LCD Soundsystem (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €28.95 €0.00 Unit price per

As half of the NYC underground-legend production team DFA, James Murphy was responsible for countless crafty retoolings of late-1970s/early-'80s sounds of the electroclash/post-punk-revival variety.

Wearing his "artist" hat under the LCD Soundsystem moniker, Murphy concocted his own minimal-synth club hits, full of both hipster irony ("Losing My Edge") and catchy electro-hooks ("Yeah").

Finally unleashed for the length of a full album, Murphy's muse still offers up plenty of John-Foxx-will-rise-again retro synth sounds, but he expands his palette as well. The irresistibly catchy "Daft Punk Is Playing at My House" is a funky, riff-driven party-starter that compares favorably to vintage Beck, and "On Repeat" indicates a fascination with the lyrical cadences of the Fall's Mark E. Smith.

Moving further back in time to the art-rock era, "Never as Tired as When I'm Waking Up" is a dreamy tune that could have slipped unnoticed off Pink Floyd's Meddle, and "Great Release" is an unabashed, slow-building Eno homage.

2017 reissue in a gatefold sleeve.

  1. Daft Punk Is Playing At My House 
  2. Too Much Love 
  3. Tribulations 
  4. Movement 
  5. Never As Tired As When I'm Waking Up 
  6. On Repeat 
  7. Thrills 
  8. Disco Infiltrator 
  9. Great Release 

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid