Le Bon, Cate: Crab Day (Vinyl LP)
Le Bon, Cate: Crab Day (Vinyl LP)

Le Bon, Cate: Crab Day (Vinyl LP)

Regular price €19.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Reissue of Cate Le Bon’s Crab Day from 2016. The material was recorded at Panoramic House studio, West Marin, California and produced by Noah Georgson and Josiah Steinbrickit. It’s an ambitious piece of work. While the album has a post-punk angularity about it in places, it’s post-punk as reimagined by Bagpuss creator Oliver Postage. Songs such as ‘Find Me‘ and ‘Yellow Blinds, Cream Shadows‘ have a charming home-made feel to their lopsided gearshifts, jerky movements and quirky surrealism. It’s eccentric and off-kilter but pop in a perfect way a la Robert Wyatt and Gruff Rhys.

A Welsh songwriter, Cate Le Bon's distinctive voice and smart arrangements have manifested as a dark, looming take on psychedelic pop over the course of multiple critically acclaimed solo albums, side projects, and production for others. Though earlier albums had hints of a folk influence, her spindly guitar leads often stole the show, tending toward more distorted and demented forms. Along with her active solo career, Le Bon has collaborated with fellow warped pop purveyor Tim Presley in a side project called DRINKS, as well as taking a producer role for indie royalty like Eleanor Friedberger and Deerhunter. Crab Day is Le Bon's fourth solo album.

  1. Crab Day
  2. Love Is Not Love
  3. Wonderful
  4. Find Me
  5. I'm a Dirty Attic
  6. I Was Born On the Wrong Day
  7. We Might Revolve
  8. Yellow Blinds, Cream Shadows
  9. How Do You Know?
  10. What's Not Mine

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid