Gentry, Bobbie The Girl From Chickasaw County (Vinyl 2xLP)

Gentry, Bobbie: The Girl From Chickasaw County (Vinyl 2xLP)

Regular price €23.95 €0.00 Unit price per

This new format (2LP) is cut down versions of the boxset and features a selection of the unreleased bonus material from the 8CD package.

In 2018 UMC released Capitol years boxset consisted of 8CDs, this is the first ever large-scale retrospective containing the first UK reissues of her albums in their entirety – supplemented by 76 previously unreleased demos, outtakes and alternate takes from all Bobbie’s Capitol albums. Included are beautiful acoustic demos of songs like Refractions, Courtyard and Seasons Come Seasons Go, alternate takes of Sunday Best, Sweet Peony and Benjamin, and previously unheard originals like Morning to Midnight, and Joanne. In addition, Bobbie recorded some great cover versions that never saw the light of day including Conspiracy of Homer Jones by Dallas Frazier, Spinning Wheel by Blood Sweat and Tears, Salome Smith and her amazing dancing bear by Randy Newman, and blues songs like Seventh Son by Willie Dixon.

One of the selling points of the set is a previously unreleased album of jazz cover versions including intimate mostly acoustic interpretations of songs including Irving Berlin’s Suppertime, Billie Holidays God Bless the Child (play from start) and Since I Fell for You by Buddy Johnson. This change of direction was abandoned in favour of the blue-eyed soul of the Touch em With Love LP, making these recordings a unique document of Bobbie as we have never heard her before. Also included are selections from Bobbie’s three BBC tv series including live versions of her well-known tracks Ode to Billie Joe and Mississippi Delta as well as songs Bobbie never recorded in the studio like The Beatles’ Mother Nature’s Son and Harry Nilsson’ Open your Window. All the audio has been mastered from the original tapes. These to include many rare and never before seen images of Bobbie, images from photo shoots, out takes, performing and touring. These releases feature an exclusive illustration provided by fashion illustrator David Downton.

  1. Ode To Billie Joe
  2. Chickasaw County Child
  3. Hurry, Tuesday Child [Demo]
  4. Sunday Best [Alternate Take]
  5. Mississippi Delta [Alternate Version]
  6. Okolona River Bottom Band
  7. Refractions
  8. Courtyard
  9. Mornin' Glory
  10. Sweete Peony [Alternate Version]
  11. Casket Vignette
  12. Recollection
  13. Sittin' Pretty
  14. Hushabye Mountain
  15. Conspiracy Of Homer Jones
  16. Sunday Mornin' [Alternate Version]
  17. Let It Be Me [Without Strings]
  18. God Bless The Child
  19. This Girl's In Love With You
  20. Touch 'Em With Love
  21. Seasons Come, Seasons Go [Demo]
  22. Glory Hallelujah, How They'll Sing [Alternate Take]
  23. Fancy
  24. He Made A Woman Out Of Me
  25. Circle Round The Sun
  26. Apartment 21
  27. Benjamin
  28. But I Can't Get Back
  29. Looking' In
  30. Smoke
  31. Joanne
  32. The Girl From Cincinnati

    All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
    All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
    Liquid error (layout/theme line 128): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid