Young, Neil: Carnegie Hall 1970 (Vinyl 2xLP)

Young, Neil: Carnegie Hall 1970 (Vinyl 2xLP)

Regular price €27.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Finally the release of Neil Young's Carnegie Hall 1970. Young has selected this concert he played at New York’s Carnegie Hall on December 4th, 1970 as the inaugural release from his Official Bootleg series. The show rounded off a seminal year for Young who had released the After The Gold Rush record just 3 months earlier in September which followed on from the Déjà Vu album he recorded as part of Crosby, Still, Nash and Young in March of the same year.

This show is a never before heard recording with Young playing solo on vocals, acoustic guitar, piano and harmonica. Young played two solo acoustic shows at Carnegie Hall that week. “Listening to existing bootlegs, it seems that all the bootleggers got the second Carnegie Hall show,” Young writes on the Neil Young Archives. “There was one at 8:00 pm and one at midnight [about 27 hours later]. No one got that first one — the first time I walked onstage at Carnegie Hall, blowing my own 25-year-old mind.” Change happens fast. At Carnegie Hall, I hear myself doing a new song, one about my ranch I had just moved to – ‘Old Man.’ Time flies.

Recorded live 1970, released as part of the Neil Young Archives 2021. Solo acoustic performance.

  1. Down By The River
  2. Cinnamon Girl
  3. I Am A Child
  4. Expecting To Fly
  5. The Loner
  6. I’m Wondering
  7. Helpless
  8. Southern Man
  9. Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing
  10. On The Way Home
  11. Tell Me Why
  12. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
  13. Old Man  

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 128): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid