Various Artists: Tribal Rites Of The New Saturday Night - Brooklyn Disco 1974-5 (Vinyl 2xLP)
Various Artists: Tribal Rites Of The New Saturday Night - Brooklyn Disco 1974-5 (Vinyl 2xLP)

Various Artists: Tribal Rites Of The New Saturday Night - Brooklyn Disco 1974-5 (Vinyl 2xLP)

Regular price €34.95 €0.00 Unit price per
Before there was Saturday Night Fever there was underground disco. DJs across America went out and found the music to play; dancers went out and found the clubs. At this point, in the early seventies, the disco was the venue and not a genre of music. • By the time Nik Cohn’s short story Tribal Rites of the New Saturday Night was published by New York magazine in June 1976, disco was the biggest genre of music on the charts and was about to get bigger still, becoming an all-enveloping cultural phenomenon. Cohn sold the film rights to Robert Stigwood, and his classic club yarn became Saturday Night Fever.

Tribal Rites Of The New Saturday Night is the soundtrack to Cohn’s story, where disco began; a 1975 score for the underground clubs of Brooklyn and Queens that played R&B, soul and Latin beats to people who lived for the weekend.

Bob Stanley has put this collection together, sourcing what was actually played in Brooklyn discos in 1974 and 1975. Only a few specific records were mentioned in Cohn’s feature, but two of them – Ben E King’s ‘Supernatural Thing Part 1’ and Harold Melvin’s ‘Wake Up Everybody’ - were cosmically great and both are included here, alongside underground favourites like Moment Of Truth’s Four Tops-like ‘Helplessly’ and Gloria Scott’s Barry White-produced modern soul classic ‘Just As Long As We’re Together’. Ivano Fossati’s incredible ‘Night Of The Wolf’ has fans in northern soul, disco and prog circles.

Without Cohn’s original story, it’s quite possible that disco would have remained an underground phenomenon – Tribal Rites Of The New Saturday Night paints a scene in full flower. Saturday Night Fever would eventually, if unintentionally, wreck the underground nature of this scene, and clubs like Studio 54 would destroy the democracy of the party, but for two or three years the scene was largely undocumented and magical. This album is the sound of disco before it was captured.
  1. Helplessly - Moment Of Truth
  2. After You've Had Your Fling - The Intrepids
  3. Welcome To The Club - Blue Magic
  4. I Can't Move No Mountains - Margie Joseph
  5. Supernatural Thing Part 1 - Ben E King
  6. Mellow Me - Faith, Hope & Charity
  7. Georgia's After Hours - Richard "Popcorn" Wylie
  8. Date With The Rain - Eddie Kendricks
  9. Just As Long As We're Together - Gloria Scott
  10. Wendy Is Gone - Ronnie McNeir
  11. Got To Get You Back - Sons Of Robin Stone
  12. Night Of The Wolf (Tema Del Lupo) - Ivano Fossati
  13. Good Things Don't Last Forever - Ecstasy, Passion & Pain
  14. Tell Me What You Want - Jimmy Ruffin
  15. Keep It Up - Betty Everett
  16. Free & Easy - Satyr
  17. Each Morning I Wake Up - Major Harris
  18. It's The Same Old Story - Act I
  19. You Can't Hide Love - Creative Source
  20. The Whole Damn World Is Going Crazy - John Gary Williams
  21. If That's The Way You Feel - White Heat
  22. Wake Up Everybody - Harold Melvin & The Bluenotes

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid