Harris, Betty: The Lost Queen Of New Orleans Soul (Vinyl 2xLP)

Harris, Betty: The Lost Queen Of New Orleans Soul (Vinyl 2xLP)

Regular price €32.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Betty Harris’ The Lost Queen of New Orleans Soul collects together the steady stream of amazing soul and funk singles issued by Betty Harris from 1964 to 1969, under the musical guidance of legendary composer, musician and producer extraordinaire Allen Toussaint, a collection which truly captures the heart and soul of the city of New Orleans during this era. Betty Harris’s powerful, fiery soulful vocals found a perfect accompaniment with the New Orleans’ players that Toussaint put together to back her, which by the time of her funk classic ‘There’s A Break In The Road’ were the legendary super-tight, super funk New Orleans group The Meters.

With the extraordinary song-writing skills of Allen Toussaint alongside the powerful, soaring, confident and emotive singer and the groove of The Meters, you have an unbeatable combination. That Harris never in fact lived in New Orleans (she flew in from Florida for all her sessions with Toussaint’s local in-house players) seems almost an irrelevance, a geographical aside to the defining New Orleans sound captured on the recordings featured here.

  1. There's A Break In The Road
  2. 12 Red Roses
  3. Mean Man
  4. I'm Gonna Git Ya
  5. Ride Your Pony
  6. Show It
  7. I Don't Wanna Hear It
  8. Bad Luck
  9. Hook, Line 'N' Sinker
  10. Lonely Hearts
  11. What'd I Do Wrong
  12. What A Sad Feeling
  13. Trouble With My Lover
  14. Sometime
  15. I'm Evil Tonight
  16. Nearer To You
  17. All I Want Is You

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid