Ben, Jorge: Samba Esquema Novo (Coloured Vinyl LP)

Ben, Jorge: Samba Esquema Novo (Coloured Vinyl LP)

Regular price €19.95 €0.00 Unit price per

Jorge Ben's first full-length record, this 1963 release contains the hit singles "Mas Que Nada" and "Chove Chuva" and typifies the light yet propulsive rhythms that afforded Ben a decades-long career in Brazilian pop.

Not yet pared down to the more rock-and Afro percussive-driven sound he eventually developed, Samba Esquema Novo (which translates to "New Style Samba") is replete with swirling bossa nova rhythms and soaring choruses.

Its big-band-style accompaniment, nicely off-set by Ben's signature minor-tone guitar workings, propels the set into an upbeat and enjoyable listen.

2022 reissue, pressed on limited clear vinyl.

  1. Mas, Que Nada
  2. Tim Dom Dom
  3. Balança Pema
  4. Vem Morena
  5. Chove Chuva
  6. É Só Sambar
  7. Rosa, Menina Rosa
  8. Quero Esquecer Você
  9. Uála Uálalá
  10. A Tamba
  11. Menina Bonita Não Chora
  12. Por Causa De Você, Menina

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid