Pentangle: Sweet Child (Vinyl 2xLP)

Pentangle: Sweet Child (Vinyl 2xLP)

Regular price €29.95 €0.00 Unit price per

The interlocking interplay of guitar masters Bert Jansch and John Renbourn, the piercingly beautiful vocals of Jacqui McShee, and the sublimely agile shuffle of bassist Danny Thompson and percussionist Terry Cox create a style that seamlessly straddles jazz, traditional British folk, rock, blues, and even classical. And, perhaps most importantly, it swings.

Sweet Child, their second album, is probably their finest hour (and a half); the first disc of this double-LP captures the quintet live at Royal Festival Hall on June 29, 1968, while disc two brings them into IBC studios, all under the magisterial eye of legendary producer Shel Talmy.

You'll hear everything from Mingus covers (of "Haitian Fight Song" and "Goodbye Pork Pie Hat") to trad folk ("No More My Lord;" "Bruton Town") to Pentangle originals ("In Time;" "In Your Mind," "A Woman Like You," and the title tune) rendered in their trademark lyrical fashion. For this LP reissue, we have stayed true to the wonderful gatefold art originally created by Peter Blake, the artist who designed Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band.

  1. Market Song
  2. No More My Lord
  3. Turn Your Money Green
  4. Haitian Fight Song
  5. A Woman Like You
  6. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
  7. Three Dances: Brentzel Gay / La Rotta / The Earle Of Salisbury
  8. Watch The Stars
  9. So Early In The Spring
  10. No Exit
  11. The Time Has Come
  12. Bruton Town
  13. Sweet Child
  14. I Loved A Lass
  15. Three Part Thing
  16. Sovay
  17. In Time
  18. In Your Mind
  19. I've Got A Feeling
  20. The Trees They Do Grow High
  21. Moon Dog
  22. Hole In My Coal

All used CDs / LPs are VG+ ~ N/M unless otherwise stated
All new CDs LPs are guaranteed unplayed but may not be factory sealed
Liquid error (layout/theme line 129): Could not find asset snippets/spurit_uev-theme-snippet.liquid